RECIPE ADVENTURES | betty(real woman of the south)’s pimento cheese spread

Now I’m probably not going to do this recipe justice, but I tried to remake my landlord Betty’s pimento cheese spread. After attending a cocktail party of hers, I kept gobbling down these tiny pimento cheese sandwiches she had out. I asked her for her recipe, and decided to make it a couple days later. While I’m living in Savannah, it sure is good to finally get some real southern style recipes under my belt! The key to this recipe is that there is no recipe, only ingredients. This is how it goes with the best recipes I think…

Pimento Cheese Spread

  • sharp cheddar cheese (I used a little more than 1/2 a pound, coarsely grated)
  • ‘more mayo than you could ever think possible’ (words from Betty)
  • pimentos (sliced in small strips, rather than diced [I used diced because I couldn’t find the sliced]…I used one can, but I should have used two)
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • ground pepper

Mix this all together, and you’ll have a delicious spread that will go perfectly sandwiched between baguette slices, or even on a veggie burger…all up to your heart’s desire.

***Betty says that this is a perfect dish to give your man….also deviled eggs. The words of the wise.***

2 comments
  1. Polly Wood said:

    This is THE BEST – BESTEST Ever….Once you dig in there is noooo coming back until it is finished! – Cannot wait to try and make it taste as good as Kelsey did! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

